PDA

View Full Version : Highly recommended lenses for 12 X 20

Natha Congdon
4-Dec-2000, 19:15
What lenses would this august group particularly recommend for the 12 X 20 forma t (diagonal 595 mm by my calcs)? New or old is fine, I'm looking for wide, norm al and long, as I'm just getting into this format. The camera has 45 inches of bellows, I will be doing portraits of small groups, probably also some landscape s. The only lens I have that fully covers at infinity is the Fujinon 600 11.5 C (IC = 620), and I have two other modern lenses with IC around 500 that will pro bably cover for closer shots (at 210 and 360), but I'd like to have at least one lens that covers with room for movements, and maybe a longer lens as well. Tha nks in advance for your thoughts on this!

Nathan

Carl Weese
4-Dec-2000, 20:14
Nathan,

My two lenses for 12x20 format are a 355mm G-Claron and a 16.5 inch dagor (am. opt. co.). Both cover fully (G-Clarons have wonderful coverage when closed down to f/45 and beyond) and give a small but useful amount of rise/fall. I understand that a 19 inch artar will cover, and of course a dagor at that length will cover with lots of room for adjustments. A 24" artar would make a classic 'normal' lens and would provide lots of extra coverage as well. The G-claron is available new or used, and the dagors and artars can be found, but you will probably have deal with cranky old shutters with them. The older lenses can deliver beautiful images.---Carl

Mark_437
4-Dec-2000, 22:02