PDA

View Full Version : omega prolab d6xl enlarger

Tyson Fisher
27-Oct-2000, 19:23
Thinking of buying this enlarger along with Nikon 50 and 105 lenses and Schneide r 75 lens.

Since I am pretty new to 4x5, is this a good buy for around $2000? Thanks

David Grandy
27-Oct-2000, 23:19
I own this exact enlarger and love it (and just stopped using it about ten minutes ago). But there are a bunch of questions I'd have about the one you are looking at.

Does your enlarger have a colour head on it? If it doesn't, I don't think that it's all the great a deal at all. Although many will argue that a condenser enlarger is better than a diffusion or cold head enlarger, I just don't buy it. Condenser enlarger show more of a hot spot, and are designed for people who like to spot prints. I can adjust the contrast with the turn of a control and avoid either having lots of graded paper around or worse, having to print through a piece of 3 cent plastic. And finally a colour head COSTS more than the condenser head when you are trying to figure out the value.

There could be a small chance that there is a Multigrade (wonderful) or cold head like Zone 6 (better than a condenser) on your enlarger and that would make a big difference to increasing the value.

The glass, except for the 105 doesn't sound all that great. You'll need at least a 135 mm lens if you want to print 4X5 and that line up of lenses doesn't give you that. So you will have to buy either a 135 or 150 mm lens and they aren't cheap.

Then you'll have to find out which lenses these ones are. Is the Nikon 50 mm the 2.8 or 4? The 4 is an older lens without the performance of the 2.8 and is worth much less. Schneider doesn't make a 75 mm lens anymore so I suspect that that lens is older, perhaps VERY old. You can check the age of any Schneider lens on Schneider's web site if you know the serial number.