PDA

View Full Version : Kodak TMAX100 Overexposed

Alessandro V.
31-Mar-2011, 07:16
Hello everyone,

I am writing to you because I need some help in developing some images correctly...
I am new to 4x5 format and so I decided to make a test to get started (obviously).

What happened...

I've shot around 50 sheets of TMAX100 with my 4x5 camera and, at the same time, I was shooting the same pictures with my 5D mark II.
At the end I loved so much the pictures I've taken with my 5D mark II that I would be very upsed if now I will ruin the work I have done with the 4x5 camera. Basically the digital version is just a backup in case something goes wrong with the developing...

Technical datas...

First of all I was using flashes, if that matters...
I was shooting with my 5D at 160 iso overexeposed (according to the lightmeter) +1 Stop.
I decided to do the same thing with the 4x5 camera so if with with the 5D I was shooting iso 160 at f/11 I decided to shoot TMAX100 at f/8 (I know it's not very precise).

My Aim...

With the 5D I was shooting setting the camera contrast very high and I really loved the effect. I would like to reach a similar result with film.
I've tried to read a bit around and I've understood that TMAX100 is already contrasty and it's easy to loose shadows and highlights details if overdeveloped.
Somebody was suggesting of rating it at 64 and then using an even shorter developing period.
At this point I was getting a bit confused:
I overexposed the film because I liked how it looked digitally therefore my first idea was to develop the film for the standard time in order to, effectively, reach the +1 stop look.
Now I am worried about developind the film for the correct amount of time because I don't want to loose completely all the details in the shadows and highlights (even if if I cut some of shadows and highlights I don't really care).

Could you please help me to solve this problem...?!
Any reccomendation about developer, time, temperature, etc?!