PDA

View Full Version : Problems developing 4x5 in a Jobo Expert 3006

eriver
27-Mar-2011, 19:43
Hey guys,

I've recently acquired a Jobo CPP-2 (thanks Shadowtracker!) and a Jobo Expert 3006 tank. I have no previous experience with colour development, but after reading hundreds of threads on how 'easy' it is, I decided to do it at home. I was also advised that the Jobo Expert series is the best way to go with due to it's ease of use and constant even development. Well, after running a couple of sheets through, I find myself really frustrated. I am getting uneven development in the center of some sheets during each run.

At first it happened in all 4 sheets I put through. I then did some reading and found out about the importance of leveling the drum before processing and it all made sense, how the part closest to the bottom of the tank didn't the same amount of chemicals. I ran 2 sheets making sure it was leveled and they came out perfect. After that, I ran two sets of 6 sheets each, getting mixed results in both batches. Some come out great, some with the center not properly developed. In some it's more apparent, some are more subtle and some are perfect. I am posting a few quick scans, all sheets are from the same tank, same run.

I am using fresh, one-shot Kodak Flexicolor chemicals and using a little more than the amount recommended by Jobo for the Expert 3006, which is 210ml.

Has this ever happened to anyone? Any clues on what I am doing wrong?

Thank you all in advance!

Brian C. Miller
27-Mar-2011, 20:22
Hi! Welcome to the forum. I have that drum, and I must admit that what you are showing has never occurred with my development. That looks like a light leak of some kind.