PDA

View Full Version : Looking for help with my scans/photoshop

vinny
4-Mar-2011, 16:02
Looking for help with optimizing my scans/photoshop

I'd like to learn more about getting the most out of my scanned film (e-6 mostly, some b+w and c41 as well) in the scanning stage and in photoshop. All of my b+w work is done in the darkroom. I process color film too but output is via lightjet.
I'm interested in proper photoshop dodge/burn techniques, blending 2 scans, working with layers, color correction, ie only things that apply to making fine art prints. While I get by with the knowledge I have, I know I can make better prints. I own/operate a drum scanner and I'm mostly self-taught with photoshop. I'd like to get some hands on instruction locally on an individual or group basis. I could take a class at the local community college but I'm afraid most of what their teaching won't apply to someone who shoots LF film and makes lightjet prints. I'm currently in los angeles but will be relocating to west michigan in a few months.

vinny

Ash
4-Mar-2011, 16:32
Can't help, but when I read the title I saw "Looking for help with my scams" :D

Jon Shiu
4-Mar-2011, 16:53
I can recommend Charles Cramer @ Ansel Adams workshops for that type of stuff.

Jon

Henry Ambrose
4-Mar-2011, 17:04
I can probably help.
Shoot me an email if you want.
Its on my website which can be found in my signature here.

vinny
5-Mar-2011, 15:30
Charles Cramer was on my list but due to timing, I don't think that's gonna happen.

Bruce Watson
6-Mar-2011, 07:38
Have a look at George DeWolfe's Digital Photography Fine Print Workshop. (http://www.amazon.com/George-DeWolfes-Digital-Photography-Workshop/dp/0072260874/sr=8-1/qid=1164721341/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/104-7101571-6075144?ie=UTF8&s=books) He also teaches a workshop (http://www.georgedewolfe.com/dfp.html) by the same name.

Lenny Eiger
6-Mar-2011, 11:02