PDA

View Full Version : What Movement to Use?

Bob Kerner
26-Jan-2011, 22:13
I'm still learning how to properly apply my 4x5s movements, so forgive the simplicity of this question but it's something I don't see addressed in my LF book.

What movements should be applied to two objects-foreground and background- in the same plane of focus? For example, I'm composing something through a wrought iron fence, where the main subject is about 20 feet away and the fence is about 3 feet away. I'd like both the subject and the fence to be sharp. 135mm f5.6 lens.

How would you use the camera movements to produce this shot?

I shot it 3 ways and am waiting for the film to come back. First, focused about a third of the way into the scene and stopped down. Second, focused only on the main subject. Third, tried the "focus on the far, tilt for the near" method but couldn't get them both in focus no matter how patiently I went back and forth with the tilt and focus.

Am I at least close to using the correct method?
Thank you in advance.

Leigh
26-Jan-2011, 22:28
First, focused about a third of the way into the scene and stopped down.
Hi Bob,

That's the proper way to get optimum depth of field.

However, You can't get both subjects in focus at the distances you gave, even at f/64.

Try using the on-line DoF calculator at http://dofmaster.com/dofjs.html to see what you can expect.

The only way to do this is to move back further from the fence, so the difference in distance is a smaller percentage. You can always crop the final image when you print it.

There are no movements that will improve the results. This is a DoF problem.

- Leigh

Bob Kerner
26-Jan-2011, 22:38
Hi Bob,

That's the proper way to get optimum depth of field.

However, You can't get both subjects in focus at the distances you gave, even at f/64.

Try using the on-line DoF calculator at http://dofmaster.com/dofjs.html to see what you can expect.