PDA

View Full Version : Wisner workshop

Robert Kerner
25-Jun-1999, 00:41
Has anyone attended a Wisner workshop and can you comment on the quality of the instruction. Are they worth the money? I am a beginner and hope to refine my knowledge of camera controls, depth of field etcetera. Thank y

james mickelson
25-Jun-1999, 02:30
You can't get a better instructor for learning the view camera and lenses and film response and paper response or....... Get the picture. You can spend less but if you can cough up the dough, go for it. My friends tell me it was a very enjoyable workshop. My suggestion is to keep looking for others who have taken workshops and compare them. But there aren't to many teachers out there with more knowlege. James

Simon_443
25-Jun-1999, 05:30
WHOA! There is a HUGE difference between knowing about something and being able to teach it well, and this may be a good example of that. Perhaps RW has improved his curriculum, but the one friend of MINE who took Wisner's workshop a couple of years ago said it was quite disappointing: "a couple of hours on photo.net/photo or this web site would have taught me much more," he says now. Be that as it may, do not sign up for ANY workshop before you talk to at least two people who have actually paid their money and been through it (no "friends"). Also, so that you know what to ask these people about syllabi, reading materials, etc., before you talk to them make sure you read this excellent advice:

http://www.thefstop.com/workshop.html