PDA

View Full Version : Schneider Angulon 120mm f6.8

jmcd
2-Jun-2002, 04:00
Is anyone familiar with this type of lens for use on 4x5? The one I am consideri ng is from around '57. It is pretty small (49mm filter), coated, and covers 211mm at f16. So far it sounds good, but I read a comment in the archives about one owner who thought it a little soft. I have not been able to turn up much on this lens. Thanks.

neil poulsen
2-Jun-2002, 09:46
My advice is to purchase a 121mm Super Angulon before purchasing the 120mm Angulon. The 121mm is the single-coated version, when compared to the 120mm S.A. It costs maybe about $200 more than the Angulon, since they typically go for about $550 on EBay. But, you get a much better lens, with extreme movements for 4x5.

I had the Angulon and upgraded to the 121mm. I would never go back, nor do I see much need to upgrade to a multi-coated lens. (But, I'm not a professional photographer, either.) The Angulon isn't as sharp as the S.A., and it had a tendency to distort the image near the edges, if you used the limited movements of which it was capable.

I would add that my Angulon was in very good shape cosmetically, but developed a fungus between the glass elements. They are old lenses.

Arne Croell
2-Jun-2002, 11:34