PDA

View Full Version : developing bw 4x5 film (by a newbie)

dikaiosune01
22-Nov-2010, 07:26
i have a distinct feeling that a question like this has already been asked. However, after 15 minutes of combing through the search function, i'm lead back to posting a new thread. I apologize for my impatience with technology.

I've been a 35mm shooter for quite some time, developing my own film. I don't have access to a dark room and will need a daylight safe tank. The two I am looking at are the
HP Combi-Plan
and the
BTZS tubes (which I would have to duck tape my door shut) It won't be pretty.

I want to know if there are any other options out there? What methods have you found that gives you teh most consistent results?

rdenney
22-Nov-2010, 08:09
...The two I am looking at are the
HP Combi-Plan
and the
BTZS tubes (which I would have to duck tape my door shut) It won't be pretty.

I want to know if there are any other options out there?

I'm not a beginner but I am going to try my hand again with black and white sheet film, and I'm perhaps a little ahead of you in this process.

In addition to the Combiplan and the BTZS systems, there is also a Jobo 2500-series tank with the 2509N reels, and the Jobo 3000-series Expert tank. The Expert tank is the best and most expensive option, and its adherents are unsympathetic to those unwilling to spend that much (which means they think it's the best thing out there).

My disposable income is not abundant at the moment, so I opted for buying a used 2551 tank and 2509N reel. These reels will hold six sheets of 4x5 (or 9x12) film, and that particular tank will hold two reels. The tanks are designed for rotary processing, which can be nothing more complex than some cheap casters screwed to a board, or a band around one end so that it rolls flat back and forth on a table top.