PDA

View Full Version : DSLR as lightmeter??

Kburg928
26-Oct-2010, 23:09
Hey everyone,

I'm wondering if anyone has used a DSLR as a light meter and if they've had any luck with it?

Jack Dahlgren
26-Oct-2010, 23:14
Yes. You might enjoy a brief search of the archives. This is a common topic.

Walter Calahan
27-Oct-2010, 04:28
A handheld light meter is smaller and lighter to lug around. As Jack wrote, this question is a regular visitor to this forum.

Jim Noel
27-Oct-2010, 09:19
A handheld light meter is smaller and lighter to lug around. As Jack wrote, this question is a regular visitor to this forum.

And also cheaper and more durable.

Kburg928
27-Oct-2010, 23:14
Thanks.

Not worried about cost, I shoot 50% of my stuff with a 5D and the rest between a rolleiflex and a linhof.

I guess I have some testing to do, thanks again

coops
28-Oct-2010, 05:21
I am fairly new to LF so I take my Canon 20d to check exposure with color film. But I do use the spotmeter first and compare, so I know if I am on the right track or not. As I get more confident I use the DSLR less and less, but for a while it was good to know I was not wasting film shooting at the wrong exposure.

Frank Petronio
28-Oct-2010, 05:49
I think they work great and feel very comfortable basing my exposures on digital camera readings. Even a pocket camera like a Ricoh GRD or Panasonic LX-3 is fine and those are smaller than most meters and a lot more useful.

Jay Decker
28-Oct-2010, 06:08
Digital cameras are excellent light meters. I frequently take my DSLR when shooting LF. With the ISO set to the film speed, set aperture priority program mode, get happy with the DSLR exposure and then apply the exposure information in the LF shot. It works great!

A couple considerations: