PDA

View Full Version : ADOX CMS20 5x4 sheet film

Adrian Roy
20-Oct-2010, 08:51
This my first post, so I'd like to introduce myself.

I'm an English photographer based in Vienna Austria and I'm looking into shooting LF again.

My primary interest is studio based portraiture and am currently researching what the most suitable camera/film combination for this purpose should be.

I have noticed that Adox is now supplying CMS 20 in 5x4 sheets (4x5 in Germany) http://www.fotoimpex.de/shop/filme/planfilme/4x5-inch/adox-cms-20-planfilm-102x127-cm-10-blatt-4x5.html

Originally I was considering shooting 10x8 as the studio I shoot in has one that I'm able to use, although it would be somewhat simpler and more cost effective to shoot 5x4.

I would like to enlarge the final prints to at least 1 metre in width and would appreciate any feedback regarding using the CMS 20 for portraits.

Best regards

Adrian

asph
21-Oct-2010, 09:05
I can't say anything about CMS20, it uses a special developer that is rather expensive, and I'm also a bit sceptical about that advertised 300 lp/mm.. what lens resolves that much?

However I have been using Adox Pan 25 for a bit now. Mainly for architecture, but I have done some portraits aswell. It is extremly fine grained and has a really nice tonality to me. Also it is pretty cheap at 16€/25 sheets. I rate it at ISO 12 and currently develop it in Rodinal 1:50. I'm very happy so far!

Ben Syverson
21-Oct-2010, 09:09
Some Leica and Zeiss lenses can resolve numbers in that range, as crazy as it sounds. However, there is no LF lens that can reach anywhere near that number, due to diffraction.

In LF, the only advantage of CMS 20 over something like TMAX 100 would probably be finer grain. I don't think you'll see any advantage in sharpness.

A49
21-Oct-2010, 10:20