PDA

View Full Version : One that wants to slow down

andreios
15-Oct-2010, 10:35
Good evening (here) or good day (someplace else) to you all!
I've been lurking round here for some time, after some hesitation started posted today (because I don't like to ask stupid questions, but it's sometimes inevitable), so I think it would be polite to introduce myself.
I am quite young, finishing university ATM, but already father of two. That means two things - little time and little money. :)
Anyhow, I've been shooting for quite a couple of years now, at first colour film (small format of course), then went digital.. Then I got sick of all those files and returned to film - BW, home-processed. I am shooting with an Olympus OM, an old, battered barnack Leica, and there is an old Rolleiflex in my drawer though it really isn't in good shape. The other reason apart from digital sickness for going analogue was the urge to slow down in taking pictures. Well, it did slow me down, I like the separate focusing - composing on the leica IIIc, but I still am looking for something slower - shoot one or two images at a time and concentrate on light, composition,...
Therefore I'd like to get into large format, though with some limitations - like no LF enlarger but only contact printing &c. (But my, I do look forward to printing! Already thinking about some alt-process techniques or lith printing at least.)
So, what shall I say in the end? I think, I ought to apologize in advance for all the bothering stupid questions, but I hope your patience will be rewarded after some time with at least one beautiful image.
Thank you.
andreios

Stephane
15-Oct-2010, 10:57
I hear you start by saying you will only want to contact print. That's great! Then you have to realize that you are setting limits before starting LF and even touched the stuff.