PDA

View Full Version : Moving to DC area

Tim Meisburger
13-Aug-2010, 19:36
Hello folks. I'm not new to the forum, but am moving from Bangkok to Falls Church, VA on August 26, so thought I would introduce myself to that community. I was actually born and raised in northern va, but have not lived there for twenty-odd years, so this is both a homecoming and a foreign posting in a strange and mysterious place.

I shoot mostly 4x5, which I took up two years ago on my fiftieth birthday. Since then I have also taken up black and white film development and printing (including occasionally smaller formats). All of this is self-taught from books or the internet, as LF and film resources in Southeast Asia are very thin. I occasionally shoot an old XA (I have two)--and consider it probably the best 35mm camera ever made, but find I only use it when carrying the 4x5 is simply too much hassle (which is seldom).

In DC I hope to be able to set up a small studio in my basement, and play more with artificial light. Also, I hope to have the opportunity sometime to take a class or workshop in (wet) printing, as I feel I could learn a lot just watching someone that knew what they were doing in a darkroom.

I will shoot more or less anything. I got interested in LF for landscapes--to get the detail missing from my enlargements of 35mm, but find I don't spend that much time in lovely environments, so also enjoy portraits and a bit of architecture. In DC I don't have much interest in monuments, but could see a trip to the national cathedral might be fun. You also might find me at Great Falls (where I used to rock climb in my youth), or perhaps fly fishing in the upper reaches of the Potomac.

Cheer, Tim

Vick Vickery
13-Aug-2010, 20:43