PDA

View Full Version : LF Newbie Questions

filmrules
5-Aug-2010, 06:29
Just registered here and I'm very new to LF. However, I ran across some Linhof gear and I'm cramming trying to learn how to work with it. I have a two Linhofs. One is a 5x7, and I don't plan on using that one. The camera I plan to use is a Linhof Technika III version V. It has a 150mm cam that matches the camera. The lens that was on it is a vintage Voightlander Braunschweig Heliar 4.5 15cm Compur. I have a couple of books I've been reading and I've been looking around the internet. But there are a few things I'm confused about, like, how far to pull the bellows out for a particular lens. And, can I put different lenses on without changing the cam, as long as I use the ground glass to focus, and not use the rangefinder? And how do you know how far to pull the bellows out for a given lens? Like I said, I'm new at this but haven't found a clear answer to these questions. Please be gentle. Thank you.

Vick Vickery
5-Aug-2010, 07:16
With the 150mm lens in place and the focusing mecanism all the way back toward the ground glass, you pull the front standard out until the lens is in focus at infinity. If the lens has been in use on that camera before you got it, I would expect to find "stops" on the focusing rail at that point; if not, mark the rail at that point until you can get some stops and put them there.

You can certainly use different lenses on the camera and focus them on the ground glass. You can find a starting point on them the same way I described with your 150mm lens above. Each lens should be mounted on its own lens board to make it convenient to change them.

Have fun! Oh, by the way, try out that 5x7...its a really nice format!

Oh, almost forgot...welcome to group therepy! :)

filmrules
5-Aug-2010, 08:14