PDA

View Full Version : UV & ND Filter question

ron110n
13-Jul-2010, 12:29
Hello, I'm new to LF and starting my first used lens Schneider Kreuznach 180mm f5.6 APO-Symmar on a Toyo View 45G.

Question:
1. Would anyone recommend a UV filter for LF lenses like Heliopan UV Filter-SH-PMC, or no UV filter at all is better.

2. Is wide open f-stop (f5.6) recomended?

3. How about B+W ND (Neutral Density) 103 and 106 filters to open the lens on broad daylight. I understand that most LF people shoot f11 to f22.

Sorry for my stupid questions. My only experience are 35mm and 6x6 MF.
BTW, I haven't shot a picture yet on my 4x5 camera.

Thanks in advanced

Ron Mutuc

Bob Salomon
13-Jul-2010, 13:38
The answers are really not different then for any other format. A UV or skylight (if you are shooting color) from a high quality manufacturer will not materially impact optical quality as long as the filter is in front of the lens and will add protection to the lens. The SH-PMC will give much better results then standard coatings and other MC coatings.

Wide open is always recommended for focusing. Optimal performance will start about two stops down and go on to f22 with your lens. Beyond f 22 you will start to be in diffraction.

A quality ND filter, Heliopan makes them with densities of 0.3 (1 stop) to 3.0 (10 stops) is always useful like most filters for a desired effect or, with ND, to bring the light down so you can shoot at a required aperture or exposure time. MC ones, where available, are best.

Steven Tribe
13-Jul-2010, 14:19
Dear Bob!
Could you explain why ND filters are best when MC (multiple coated)? I thought that the idea behind coating was to increase the passage of light at the air/glass phase. Surely the slight light loss with non-coated ND filters has been taken into consideration when calculating the ND factor. Or is there some other beneficial effect of coating which escapes me at the moment?

Joanna Carter
13-Jul-2010, 14:43