PDA

View Full Version : Fujinon SWD 75/5.6 on Crown Graphic? Lens price?

engl
13-Jul-2010, 08:05
A local store has a Fujinon SWD 75/5.6 (outer lettering, Copal C shutter) for 295$ and Im considering buying it. First I have some questions though:

1. Is that a good price? I have not been able to find what these usually go for, but it seems like a well regarded 75mm lens, and other 75/5.6 recently sold over at eBay are considerably more expensive. The one for sale has excellent shutter/glass, only some cosmetic marks on the aperture ring.

2. How well would the lens work on a Pacemaker Crown Graphic? From what I have read, it should work, but what about movements? Rise is what I need most. What about focusing? I have read I need to use drop bed, would not this make focusing a mess?

3. Would you recommend a center filter when using this lens with negative film? Seems unnecessary, but if anyone disagrees Id like to hear.

Im pretty new to LF photography and have only bought one lens, a Fujunon NW 125/5.6 Im very satisfied with, but I find myself wanting to go wider.

BradS
13-Jul-2010, 09:00
That seems like a very good price...maybe too good. Make sure that the shutter works and that it is the correct shutter - not some older crap that was swapped in. Also inspect the optic carefully...these lenses used to fetch $600 easily. I know that the market is depressed but this seems too good to be true.

The lens will be a major pain in the ass to use with a Crown Graphic. You must drop the bed and the lens will end up right at or very near the hinge. Focusing will be near impossible and the bellows will be too compressed to allow any movements.

Center filter not generally needed with this lens when shooting print film.

It is a fine lens but, not at all suited to the Crown Graphic.

Dan Fromm
13-Jul-2010, 12:21
Focusing shouldn't be a problem. This because the inner and outer bed rails are linked.