PDA

View Full Version : Remount lens - reasonable to do myself?

gdi
11-Jul-2010, 05:03
I have a newly acquired Super Graphic with a Ektar 127/Synchro Compur that needs a shutter overhaul. I also have a Schneider 135 convertible (uncoated) that is mounted in a Copal 0 on a Cambo board (I couldn't sell my Cambo kit, so I may repurpose the lens.)

Is it reasonable to do a swap myself (I have no experience)? I don't know how the holes in the board compare. Maybe I need to make a board or look for a blank one?

Thanks!

BrianShaw
11-Jul-2010, 11:05
Removing one lens from the board and replacing with another is a cinch.

If you don't know already, you need t remove the rear element and use a spanner tool to untwist the retainer ring. Whatever you do, work carefully and don't slip during this operation.

Then reverse operation to put the replacement lens on.

It would not surpise me to find out that both of your shutters are about the same mounting hole size. That would make the swap really easy. Otherwise you might need to look into getting another lens board.

BrianShaw
11-Jul-2010, 11:07
For the SuperGraphic, making a board would be the difficult way to go. But you can make it easier on yourself and use a Pacemaker board. It won't permit use of the electric shutter release but it will hold the lens in place and will be affordable.

BrianShaw
11-Jul-2010, 11:10
If it is not a direct replacement situation, ou can either get a blank and start cutting the hole from nothing, or look for one with a 35mm hole already in it.

Ash
11-Jul-2010, 11:12
If you need lensboards, you can get them made by
Scott --

BrianShaw
11-Jul-2010, 11:20
I'm not in the know, Ash... Scott who?

BrianShaw
11-Jul-2010, 11:23
I take that back. I googled him and see what you are talking about. Interesting option!

Ash
11-Jul-2010, 11:54
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?t=63958

gdi
11-Jul-2010, 12:35
Thanks!