PDA

View Full Version : Switching LF Sizes

MIke Sherck
10-Mar-2002, 00:49
I've been using an old 5x7 Ansco for a few years and contact printing the negati ves. I sold it with the intention of moving to 8x10 as I wanted larger prints. However, I'm having second thoughts: perhaps 4x5, being substantially lighter, would be a better choice (especially since I picked up an old, but usable, Bese ler 4x5 enlarger extra cheap.)

No, I'm not asking you to make my decision for me. :)

I am curious about the experiences of anyone who has moved between sizes as thei r main camera; those who started at 4x5 and moved larger, and those who started larger and moved down to 4x5. What were your motives? Are you happy with your decision? What did you learn? Would you do it again, or with the perspective o f hindsight would you do something different?

Thanks!

Mike

Per Volquartz
10-Mar-2002, 01:14
Started with a 4X5 before the beginning of time - or thereabouts... Did tons of work with this format but felt the need for greater fidelity... Moved to 8X10 when Polaroid started selling 8X10 material back in the seventies - almost died from hauling all the extra equipment -

Settled on 5X7 - for me an ideal size as the weight and bulk is not much more than 4X5 - but with much greater image quality (my opion only of course...)...

Michael Kadillak
10-Mar-2002, 01:28