PDA

View Full Version : Dallmeyer A.M. 14in 356mm f4 with handmade brass M42 adapter

Scheimpflug
20-Jun-2010, 04:36
Hello! I'm new to both this forum and to large format photography, but I have a new lens and figured this would be the place to learn about it.

I went on a trip last weekend to the nearest city (300km / 4.5h drive), and while there, I was rummaging through a second hand store. Underneath some furniture and an old accordion(!), I discovered a huge lens with a very vintage & homemade looking brass M42 adapter.

http://i741.photobucket.com/albums/xx60/Scheimpflug/Large%20Format%20Lenses/Dallmeyer%2014in%20356mm%20f4/DSC_9736-edited-resized.jpg

The lens has a number of markings on it which, with the help of Google (many of the search results ending up here), have helped me get a rough idea of its origins:
http://i741.photobucket.com/albums/xx60/Scheimpflug/Large%20Format%20Lenses/Dallmeyer%2014in%20356mm%20f4/DSC_9806-edited-resized.jpg
http://i741.photobucket.com/albums/xx60/Scheimpflug/Large%20Format%20Lenses/Dallmeyer%2014in%20356mm%20f4/DSC_9883-edited-resized.jpg
http://i741.photobucket.com/albums/xx60/Scheimpflug/Large%20Format%20Lenses/Dallmeyer%2014in%20356mm%20f4/DSC_9885-edited-resized.jpg

Apparently the J.H.D. stamp and the UU serial number both signify that it is a design/product of the John Henry Dallmeyer company, while the A.M. and the arrow signify that it was built for the UK Air Ministry for use as an aerial photography lens, possibly in the WWII timeframe. Supposedly the "14A" is a design or category, while "3140" is the military contract under which the lens was produced.

The lens itself is quite heavy, and has a large aperture ring that stands out from the lens body. There is a brass block bolted to the ring, perhaps to couple the ring to a cable or some other mechanism? The lens mount threads are ~75mm in diameter, and the filter threads are the same.