PDA

View Full Version : Focusing at Night

JHenry
29-May-2010, 07:35
I was in San Francisco a few weeks ago, and decided to try shooting the Golden Gate Bridge at night. Now, I'm totally new to a view camera and up to this point I had shot all of 8 frames, all in the middle of the day. So, I arrive at a spot northwest of the bridge and begin to both set up my equipment and freeze.

When I went to frame and then focus the shot, I found it very difficult. Even with the lens open, a loupe and a darkcloth, I found it very hard to see the subject on the ground glass, and even more difficult to focus it. (Yes, it was night time, but I expected--stupidly maybe--to see the image more clearly on the ground glass.)

I just got the negatives back, and they look good at first pass (I'll be scanning this weekend, so will know more soon). But, as I was going through this process, I wondered how other people approached this problem, and if there is some super-secret solution that I might be able to glean from the users of this forum.

Appreciate your help, insights and suggestions.

Cheers,

Jeff

J Ney
29-May-2010, 07:43
2-million candlepower spotlight :)

Of course at the Golden Gate bridge, that may attract the ghetto-birds.

dsim
29-May-2010, 08:07
Arrive early for focus and composition. Wait for the light to shoot.

Maglites can be placed in the foreground for focusing in low light levels.

urs0polar
29-May-2010, 18:55
Press-style cameras like the Linhof Technika, Speed Graphic, etc have models that come with rangefinders. A rangefinder is often easier to focus in low light. Of course, if you are doing movements, then that doesn't help much.

Don7x17
29-May-2010, 23:35
For close to intermediate distances (but not the far end of a two mile long bridge) get a lasar pointer. You'll see how easy it is to focus on the spot.

Obviously you don't shine this at a car's driver or an airplane - we are talking about focusing on inanimate objects.

GPS
30-May-2010, 07:45