PDA

View Full Version : New to large format

roadmouse
18-May-2010, 03:33
Greetings from the Netherlands!
I'm new to large format photography, but it's been gaining my interest.

Recently bought and cleaned an old Ica Ideal 249. I can't wait to try and shoot some film with this beauty! All I need now is to find some 9x12 film holders that fit this camera. :)

Vick Vickery
18-May-2010, 08:38
Welcome to group therepy! :) There are several regular posters from your neck of the woods...maybe they'll be able to help you find some 9x12 holders in that part of the world...of course, there's always mail-order!

Charles Hohenstein
18-May-2010, 15:53
Welcome.

georg s
18-May-2010, 16:03
Welcome and good luck finding the needed holders. I have a „Tropen-Kamera“ from the late 20s/early 30s and I haven't figured out what kind of holders it needs...

FlyKLM
24-Jun-2010, 09:11
Hello Roadmouse, I too live in the Netherlands and have been using a Linhof Technika for about 3 years now. Wish you success with the ICA camera. I have a very old Linhof from about the 1920's which which may use the same film holders. These are thin metal cassettes in two parts, some are a little rusty and some in mint condition. I havn't tried them yet and will need to cut some film down when I do.

roadmouse
25-Jun-2010, 02:08
Thanks FlyKLM! Unfortunately the Linhof cassettes won't fit my ICA. I have tried several different 9x12 film holders. But no luck so far.
I'm not ready to give up though! Although it might be better to save my money for an old Linhof instead :)

Steven Tribe
25-Jun-2010, 03:06
I enclose a drawing of the side view of the most common types of 9x12 plate/film holders. They show the slight variation in lengths and the edge designs. ICA is type C.

ICA is usually recognisable (at least, those actually made by ICA) as they have the trademark star. I have a number of 9x12s but no ICAs. I'll look through my "stock" to see if I have one you can use to get started.

roadmouse