PDA

View Full Version : Caltar II-N

David Woods
12-Apr-2010, 21:53
Hi

I am new to LF can anybody give me some info on the attached picture, it's a caltar 11-n 360mm whats the largest format it will cover is it a descent lens or where I can get the technical information sheet for it?

Regards
David

BradS
12-Apr-2010, 22:01
nominal coverage is probably around 70 degrees. that would make an image circle of about 490 mm. It might be adequate for 11x14 but is probably best suited to 8x10.

ps: I'm watching it too. good luck.

Oren Grad
12-Apr-2010, 22:11
It's the Rodenstock (Apo-)Sironar-N under the private label of Calumet Photographic, a large dealer in the US and now Europe as well.

The 360 will cover 11x14, though without a lot of room for movement. It offers ample movement for 8x10 or smaller formats. It's a large, heavy lens which goes fine on most 8x10 cameras but can be a burden to carry in the field. Most users would find it excessive for a 4x5 field camera, and some of the lighter ones would have trouble tolerating that much weight on the front standard.

Optically it's a very competent lens, but whether it would be a good choice for you depends on how much you are willing to carry and what uses you have in mind. Can you tell us more?

Oren Grad
12-Apr-2010, 22:12
nominal coverage is probably around 70 degrees. that would make an image circle of about 490 mm.

64 and 435, actually.

David Woods
12-Apr-2010, 22:43
nominal coverage is probably around 70 degrees. that would make an image circle of about 490 mm. It might be adequate for 11x14 but is probably best suited to 8x10.

ps: I'm watching it too. good luck.

Hi
Don't waste your bidding on early bids, I will assume it must be an alright lens.

Regards
David

David Woods
12-Apr-2010, 22:52
It's the Rodenstock (Apo-)Sironar-N under the private label of Calumet Photographic, a large dealer in the US and now Europe as well.