PDA

View Full Version : Is a Crown Graphic a good choice?

Jehu
17-Mar-2010, 09:19
I'm kind of new to LF in general. It's been almost two years since I got my first 4X5. I've been hooked ever since. I recently shot some Pierce Arrows for a rancher in California. He's got dozens of them. I sent him the prints from the shoot and was surprised when he responded with an invitation to an annual Car Tour. There are going to be about 150 cars in the tour. No cars manufactured after 1920 will be allowed.

I have about 4 months to prepare for this. It will be 3 days on the road with some serious subject matter to shoot. I will, of course, have my trusty Calumet monorail but I also want to shoot hand-held. Neither the Mamiya 645 nor the Nikon SLR seem to be appropriate for this tour.

I was looking at a Crown Graphic at the local camera store. With a 120 roll back and the 4X5 capability, it seems like it may be a good choice.

Any suggestions? Am I on the right track for what I'm trying to do?

David de Gruyl
17-Mar-2010, 09:34
With a working rangefinder, they are a joy to use handheld. Otherwise, they are the world largest point and shoot.

Personally, I have never used a roll film back on a large format camera, so I can't address that, but I can't imagine that it is painful.

If you do go this route, make sure that you get the hang of doing everything one handed. You have to hold the camera up, hold the dark slide and trip the shutter all at once. I am not trying to make a big deal out of it, but it is the clumsiest part.

Frank Petronio
17-Mar-2010, 09:59
The Crown is arguably the best handheld 4x5 camera. Light, reliable, priced right, easy -- hard to beat even by much more expensive alternatives.

120 on a 4x5 never appealed to me, might as well just use a medium format camera. Take the money you'd spend on a back and get a good Harrison changing tent and a bunch of film holders.

Jehu
17-Mar-2010, 09:59