PDA

View Full Version : So much for digital...

adevoe
8-Mar-2010, 18:34
Hello!

I am thinking of making the plunge into large format photography. I'm looking to get my first set up (ideally a Sinar F1 or 2) and ditch my DSLR... well, not ditch it, but do some real film work. I miss film...

I am a student at the University of Wisconsin - Madison now, and will be transferring to the School of the Art Institute of Chicago next year on a partial scholarship for an undergraduate Fine Arts - Photography degree.

I have been watching the forums for a week or two now, and they have been incredibly helpful in narrowing my search for a set up! Thanks for posting all this info! I look forward to joining in...

Now... back to the search for my newest, and definitely largest (physically!) photography purchase yet.

-Alex DeVoe

Ron Marshall
8-Mar-2010, 18:43
Check out KEH Camera brokers, for a wide selection of used equipment. Badger Graphics for great prices on new and some used. Also the for sale section of this site.

adevoe
8-Mar-2010, 18:46
Thanks! I've been trolling ebay, craigslist, and every other commonly known used stuff source. Couple of near purchases so far. I'll have to check those out though...

Also,
Here is a link to the some of the work I have done so far...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/alexanderdevoe/

Vick Vickery
9-Mar-2010, 07:09
Welcome to group therepy! :) Don't mean to discourage anybody from taking up our addiction, but since you're about to go to a different school, you might want to check on your immediate equipment needs for the classes you'll be taking first...the LF camera could become low on your list of "Things I gotta have NOW!" No doubt a LF camera will be needed at the Art Institute at some point, though.

David Karp
9-Mar-2010, 07:22
If you do decide to purchase LF, also talk to Jim Andracki at Midwest Photo Exchange (mpex.com). In WI, you also have Badger Graphics, which is not too far from Madison.

Steve M Hostetter
9-Mar-2010, 09:29