PDA

View Full Version : What B&W enlarging paper do you recommend?

Jon Wilson
27-Feb-2010, 20:11
Well, I am a newbie in printing B&W prints. I will have my darkroom fully function by the end of March. I will have installed a Durst CLS-2000 (8x10) enlarger. The only print paper I have are 4x5 and 8x10 AZO. I want to order some B&W paper and developer. From what can presently be ordered in the US, what do you recommend and why?
All assistance is truly appreciated. Thank you. Jon

ic-racer
27-Feb-2010, 21:03
The Ilford multigrade is very nice. Even the RC. The RC is a little easier to process and handle in the bigger sizes if you are just starting out.

One nice thing about the Ilford Multigrade papers is that the values on the contrast printing chart in the paper insert are well tuned to your CLS2000. I have made my own calibration charts, but for the CLS2000 those Ilford supplied values are perfect.

The paper works well in their own developer and it also works fine in Kodak's Dektol (which is a lot cheaper).

Jon Wilson
28-Feb-2010, 07:08
The Ilford multigrade is very nice. Even the RC. The RC is a little easier to process and handle in the bigger sizes if you are just starting out.

One nice thing about the Ilford Multigrade papers is that the values on the contrast printing chart in the paper insert are well tuned to your CLS2000. I have made my own calibration charts, but for the CLS2000 those Ilford supplied values are perfect.

The paper works well in their own developer and it also works fine in Kodak's Dektol (which is a lot cheaper).

Thank you. I have just placed an order so it will be on hand when my darkroom becomes inaugurated. BTW, have you used PF130 developer? If yes, what are your impressions/experiences?

Thank you again. Jon

Eric Biggerstaff
28-Feb-2010, 08:10
Adox MC 110
Foma Varient 111
Ilford FB Warmtone