PDA

View Full Version : Aperture Variation in Different Lenses?

brent79
27-Feb-2010, 02:44
Hi there,

I'm pretty new to LF and this might be a dumb question... :)

I recently bought a Rodenstock 210mm 5.6 Apo-Sironar-S lens and have been astounded by the quality compared to the digital slr Ive been used to for the past few yrs. I was using my dlsr to meter for my 4x5 exposures and everything has worked out fine.

I recently got my hands on a Fujinon-W 180mm 5.6 for real cheap. I was just playing around with it and noticed the aperture dial goes beyond f64 as well as in the other direction, it goes beyond f5.6

I went back and had a closer look at the Rodenstock, it stops right on f5.6 but does go a bit beyond f64

I wanted to do a comparison so I set the Rodenstock to f16 and tried to match the aperture on the Fujinon by eyeballing it. The Fujinon reads halfway between f13 and f14.

Is this normal since they are different focal lengths or is there something fishy going on? I'm leaving in 2 days to go on a trip and was planning on bringing both lenses so wont have time to do a test. I will be using my dslr to meter. I'm just concerned if I use the Fujinon I might be overexposing (which shouldnt really matter with film right?) and lacking depth of field

Any ideas would be much appreciated
Thanks in advance!

JRFrench
27-Feb-2010, 04:14
The aperture is a fraction of the focal length. f16 means the diameter of the aperture is 1/16th * the focal length.

So 11.25mm for the 180mm, 13.125mm for the 210mm.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/F-number

brent79
27-Feb-2010, 04:18
Thanks
Learn something new everyday :)

Arne Croell
27-Feb-2010, 04:31