PDA

View Full Version : Ebony and Chamonix wholeplate cameras

Per Berntsen
4-Feb-2010, 12:19
This thread is an offspring from this thread (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?p=555708#post555708).

I have been using 4 x 5 cameras for more than 30 years, the last 13 an Arca Swiss F-line with which I have been very pleased. I print quite big, mostly 26 x 33" - previously in the darkroom - now I scan the negatives on an Agfa T2500 and make inkjet prints. The process of moving from the darkroom to inkjet has made me much more aware of image quality, and I have also spent some time examining my old 17 x 22" prints, which of course look much better than the 26 x 33" in terms of sharpness, resolution, and tonal separation.

So, I've decided to get a bigger camera. First I thought I'd get a 5 x 7, but then I became aware that there are several modern WP cameras on the market. The advantages of this format are obvious - close to 8 x 10 in size and quality, but cameras are smaller and lighter, and you can use all the lightweight lenses that just cover 8 x 10, but have room for movements on 6.5 x 8.5.

The Ebony is very attractive, but expensive. (and heavy) The Chamonix is lightweight and relatively cheap, and my most likely choice, particularly since I would like to buy 15 - 20 holders as well. The Argentum cameras are very beautiful and lightweight, but I don't think I could live without the shift movement.

Sal Santamaura and Oren Grad have kindly offered to answer my questions about the Ebony and the Chamonix, so here goes:

@ Sal: I've noticed that most Ebonys have combined controls for tilt and rise. What's it like to operate them? The outermost knobs look a bit small and fiddly. And do they work completely independently of each other?
Other than that, I wonder why the WP Ebonys are so heavy. The non-folding version actually weighs 1,4 kg more than the lightest 8 x 10.

@ Oren: