PDA

View Full Version : Monitor advice please

parasko
23-Jan-2010, 13:49
Hi folks,

I want to purchase a monitor for photo-editing, colour work but I'm confused by all the issues. I'm not technical by any stretch and my questions are based on what I have read on the net.

1. IPS or PVA? From what I have read, IPS is the way to go. However, many of the best-brand monitors, such as Eizo, are S-PVA in my price range. What gives?

2. Wide colour gamut or standard? So, wide is better for fine art colour printing to match screen and final print (Adobe RGB). What happens if I also need those same images on a website (sRGB)? How do people get around this with wide gamut monitors? Is standard in fact better if you are using one monitor for both needs?

3. Specific monitor recommendation? I have factored in between $1000-$2000 Aussie dollars (US$900-$1800), but preferably in that mid-range. I am considering one of the NEC multisync models. 24" is sufficient. Opinions?

4. In this price range, is there really much difference between brands and types with issues such as even brightness across the screen, viewing angles etc?

Any advice appreciated.

Peter De Smidt
23-Jan-2010, 16:42
Look into the Dell 2209WA. It's an e-IPS panel. I have one, and I'm very pleased with it's performance for Photoshop work. You could buy two for how much you're talking about, which would be great, as you can put all of your palettes on the second one.

RPNugent
24-Jan-2010, 06:35
Read this or other similar posts explaining the difference.

http://www.clarkvision.com/photoinfo/choosing_an_LCD_monitor/

Dell has a habit of changing what panel is in their monitors with no notice so make sure you check specs before committing to one.