PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions

John G.
20-Jan-2010, 05:40
I'm very close to taking my first step into the world of large format. Over the last 6 or so months I've bought Adams's "The Camera" and Steve Simmons "Using the view Camera" and read them both, lurked around the internet and looked at a lot of awsome pictures by way of research.

Along the way I discovered that there were more then a few sizes in large format and it's left me with a dilema. Quite simply I really like the aspect ratios of 4x10 and 5x8 far more then the squarer look of 4x5 / 8x10.

Because of where I live I'm basicly going to have to be self taught, and I'm wondering, given the imminent demise of quickloads, if there is any real reason to get a 4x5 system first or whether I should step straight up to an 8x10 and a pair of half darkslides. So any thoughts on that would be appreciated.

At this point I should say that my reasons for going to large format are mostly a need for perspective contol and also I'd like the option of larger enlargements then I can get off a DSLR. But I'm also going to hump the thing up some awfully big hills so weight is an issue. I'd rather carry more and get there slower then take a "lesser" shot, but first I have to get there kind of thing.

With the weight criteria in mind, I'd also ask if anyone has ever used a half darkslide on 5x8 for panoramas, and if so would they be prepared to post examples or otherwise direct me to them.

Many thanks in advance

John

Bill_1856
20-Jan-2010, 06:27
Don't forget that you're going to need to enlarge anything smaller than 8x10. And one of the nicest things about Large Format is that it's so easy to crop and still have oddles of quality in the print. I'd start with 4x5.

cdholden
20-Jan-2010, 06:35
If you're looking to enlarge,but you're concerned about weight, start small. Maybe a 2.25"x3.25" Speed Graphic or a Busch Pressman (C, I think. D is 4x5).