PDA

View Full Version : DIY newb help... want to make my large format

noorali
23-Oct-2009, 11:26
Hi

I am a student and have been using a DSLR most of the time I have done some medium format but it just does not do it for me.

I want to make my own large format camera, but the closest I have come to building my own camera is a pinhole when I was a kid.

I was thinking of making a camera obscura then attaching a modified flat bed scanner(light removed) and laptop but the final image would be too dark (I assume).

I have loads of old 35mm cameras and lens’ is it possible to modify this into the front plate and I am sure I can make my own bellows but what do I do about more importantly the film I am sure they don’t sell and develop that in jessops.

Ron Marshall
23-Oct-2009, 11:58
Used LF is so cheap now, why bother to make something.

pablo batt
23-Oct-2009, 11:59
try a pinhole using 8x10 film, you will love the neg size and the cost of setup

foma 8x10 100 asa 64 euro for 50 sheets

i took my briefcase camera out in amsterdam today and scored a huge neg and it looks great

not good for moving subjects though :0)

noorali
23-Oct-2009, 12:17
well I would love to create my own large format digital camera in the style of the old lage format cameras also I want to be able to make the negs the same size as the print aka A2 and even if I jst end up makeing a normal LF camera the point is that I would have made it

ic-racer
24-Oct-2009, 05:37
well I would love to create my own large format digital camera in the style of the old lage format cameras also I want to be able to make the negs the same size as the print aka A2 and even if I jst end up makeing a normal LF camera the point is that I would have made it