PDA

View Full Version : 4x5 flash

vic blount
30-Mar-1999, 22:09
Am having a ball with my first 4x5. My progress on a learning curve is really a flat line at this stage. However, the X on my caltor lens means it has a synchronized flash. Right? If so, where do I find info on the flashes? Or is it studio lighting all the wa y? Am used to fill flash in the 35mm format. In depth responses will be greatly appreciated. I am really new at this. Thanks Vi

Ellis Vener
31-Mar-1999, 03:45
You can use any flash that has a "pc" type sync connection from a vivitar 283 up to multiple 4800w/s studio units. sync speeds are from B to what ever the faste st speed on your lens is. And yes you may need a flashmeter, but you can also us e the auto mode on flashes like a Vivitar 283.

Peter Hughes
31-Mar-1999, 12:45
Many people buy complicated lighting set-ups that they have no need for and no idea of how to use properly. My suggestion is to start simple: a 300 watt-second monolight (a self-contained, AC-powered flash), something to soften the light (such as an umbrella or soft box), and a reflector to add fill (a large card or foam board, white on one side, silver on the other). You'll also need a lightstand and possibly some type of bracket that allows you to swivel the light. You can determine your exposure by test, thus saving you the cost and complications of a flash meter. For examples of what can be done with precisely such a setup, see: http://www.ravenvision.com/rvafaceofaids.htm

Blake
31-Mar-1999, 13:16