PDA

View Full Version : Standard Exposures

Mike Green
15-Oct-2009, 07:28
Hello all

I'm relatively new to large format and have a beginners question that I can't seem to find an answer to anywhere else. I am shooting 4x5 on a Linhof Kardan Color 45s and a Super Graphic, both of which I find fascinating to use and my early results have been a mixture of disappointment and awe.

Being at this moment unable to afford a spot meter I tend to do the best I can with the metering from an SLR but it's not ideal. I've seen standard exposures for various scenes - sunny 16 etc. What I was wondering though is this:

If I'm looking at the ground glass and I can see my image fairly clearly in the available light at f5.6 - what exposure for say Velvia or Delta 100 would I need for the image to appear on film exactly as I see it on the groundglass? Could I use that as a starting point to calculate exposure? Or are there too many variables to do this accurately?

Thanks

Mike

Mike Green
15-Oct-2009, 07:34
Sorry - I realise the title of this post was a bit vague

Jim Rice
15-Oct-2009, 08:01
That won't work, however the SLR as meter should do okay.

Mike Green
15-Oct-2009, 08:36
Thanks Jim - could you elaborate at all? I'm sure there's a good reason why it won't work, but I haven't shot enough film to really understand it.

I figured if you know the sensitivity of a particular film to light and how it compares to the eye viewing the ground glass image that it would be possible to work out a base equivalent exposure. I'm sure I'm missing something, I just don't know what.

Ken Lee
15-Oct-2009, 08:41
Using a camera as a light meter - and as long as you are focused fairly close to infinity - your exposures should be pretty close. 1/60 at f/11 is the same, wherever we go.