PDA

View Full Version : Shen Hao vs. Chamonix

bobwysiwyg
23-Jul-2009, 12:06
I'm pretty new to LF and have been doing my learning on a Cambo 4x5. I still have a great deal to learn. :) However, one of its shortcomings is becoming pretty bothersome, and that's the lack of portability. I've been doing a good deal of searching/reading about both the Chamonix and the Shen Hao. I've seen testimonials for both, but also some comments such as the Shen Hao not being very intuitive, etc.

Anyway, having a tough time committing one way or the other and was wondering if there's anyone who has used both and can provide as objective comparison as possible. I would be very interested in hearing from anyone who started with one, but switched to the other, and why they switched. Thanks in advance.

vinny
23-Jul-2009, 12:23
yes both extensively, do a search here to find my posts.
here's some other posts that may or may not help.

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?t=36219&highlight=vinny
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?t=39113&highlight=shenhao+chamonix
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?t=36219&highlight=vinny

Gem Singer
23-Jul-2009, 12:48
Are you asking about the Shen-Hao HZX-45IIA, or the Shen-Hao PTB 45?

The PTB 45 is a close copy of the Chamonix 4X5.

All three are wooden folding flat bed cameras, but the PTB-45 and the Chamonix 4X5 are similar in design to Dick Phillips cameras , and the HZX-45IIA is a conventional double focusing rack design.

I don't understand why the Shen-Hao would be less intuitive to operate than the Chamonix, and I don't rate intuitive operation very high on my list of pro's and con's.

From my experience, the Shen-Hao HZX-45IIA is a lot of camera for the price when
it comes to comparing movements, bellows length, features, etc.

bobwysiwyg
23-Jul-2009, 13:36
Thank you both, particularly those links Vinny.

Nana Sousa Dias
29-Jul-2009, 16:42