PDA

View Full Version : One more Jobo question

Ari
16-Jul-2009, 11:45
Hi all,
I've been scanning this site for a while and haven't found exactly what I'm looking for, so excuse me if this has been discussed ad nauseum. I'm quite new to processing with the Jobo, and don't have a motor for it.
I use a Jobo 2551 tank and two 4x5 reels to process 12 sheets of film; I first used hand inversion (came out fine, but too much chemistry required), and last time I hand-rolled the tank. I did this by filling my sink with enough water to keep the tank bouyant, and gently, but constantly, rolled the tank against the sink edge.
My question is, should I be constantly rotating the tank for the entire development/stop/fix period, or do you roll a few seconds of each minute?
I am getting a lot of contrast buildup as a result of constant rotation, but I suppose if I rest the drum for part of each minute some areas will get more development than others.
I like dense negatives, but this is too much.
I've got T-Max 400 (EI 200) processed in HC-110 (50mL syrup to 1550 mL water) at 24C for 9 minutes.
Thanks for any advice.

Ron Marshall
16-Jul-2009, 12:43
I used HC-110 for inversion processing and was very happy with the results. But when I switched to rotary processing, using Jobo Expert drums, I found that even with higher dilutions I had to use very short processing times to achieve the desired contrast. I then switched to XTOL and have been very satified with the results.

Jan Pedersen
16-Jul-2009, 12:44
Ari, If you don't use enough developer to completely cover the film you will need constant agitation otherwise you will get uneven developement.
Try to cut back your time or reduce the temperature, HC110 is known to build density pretty quick.
Look for a Beseler motor base, so much easier than hand rolling.

Lenny Eiger
16-Jul-2009, 12:51