PDA

View Full Version : Stiff Rear Movements on a Sinar f

mdm
13-Jul-2009, 02:30
I am very new to LF and the excited owner of a Sinar f which I bought from KEH and had shipped at great expense to New Zealand. Sadly rear tilt, swing and shift are unusable, movement is so stiff and the 'knobs' are either missing entirely or stiff and don't lock anyway. Sending it back is not an option because of the expense (I did ask them to check it out before shipping, and they claimed to have done so). The main problem is with tilt and it is the right pivot that is stiff, left pivot is stiff but ok. The adjustment knob is so stiff and innefective. Lever for swing is completeley missing and doesn't lock when tight anyway. So how do I loosen it all up? Suggestions appreciated.

Also if you have any lever or knobs lying around please see my WTB post.

David

Archphoto
13-Jul-2009, 04:36
Welcome !

If you go to this site (http://www.image2output-support/sinar/) you will get the service manual for your F.

Use naphta or so to get rid of the old and stiffened grease and apply lithium grease.
Use brushes and toothpicks to remove all the old stuff.

There has been a thread about a rear P standard with troubles, you will find more data in that one.

Hopefully you are a bit on your way....

Peter

rdenney
13-Jul-2009, 08:49