PDA

View Full Version : Critiques on the Bender 4x5 Kit

Bruce E. Steffine
28-Oct-1998, 14:08
I am new to LF and am considering the Bender 4x5. The price is right, since my b udget is very tight, and it appears to provide all the features of the expensive models. Of course, I would love to own one of those high priced field cameras, but I don't think my wife will allow me to sell the car just yet! I agree with t he concept of "putting my money into the lens", but I am concerned about the sta bility of a Bender in actual field use. Will it hold up with constant use? What' s it going to "feel" like after a year or two? Is it a wise choice for all-seaso n shooting (I like to shoot outdoors in the Rocky Mountain winters)? I would rea lly appreciate some feedback from experienced users of the Bender. I plan to con centrate on landscape/scenics, macro, and even portraiture, primarily B&W.

al
28-Oct-1998, 17:40
bender isnt for someone who wants something cheap, your better off with the toyo cx. If you enjoy building and have patience you will like the bender, if you dont then its a real bad idea.

Lot Wouda
28-Oct-1998, 17:59
"(I like to shoot outdoors in the Rocky Mountain winters)" Seems like a bad idea with a Bender. Use it in the studio to become acquainted with LF. The critical point lies in the clamps that hold the body to the rail. These clamps are to be constructed from three separate parts with lime and screws, they do not come as a whole. It requires good craftmanship and perfect instruments to make it work stable. These instruments may add to the price if you have not got them already.

Michael Kadillak
28-Oct-1998, 20:39