PDA

View Full Version : Tachihara 6.5x8.5 (wholeplate)

Michael Sta. Maria
18-May-2009, 23:52
Hello all,
I'm soon to be acquiring a whole plate tachihara view camera and would like to know some info on what camera back i would need to acquire next as well as lensboards and film holders. Are there any alternatives to what I would need to start shooting? Or can I ONLY use dedicated lens boards and/or camera backs and holders? From the bit of research I've done, I've found that this camera can take toyo holders? Are there any film holders in whole plate format that are compatible? Please help! I am completely new to large format and am open to learning as much as I can about whole-plate format especially.
Thanks in advance,
MIKE

Oren Grad
19-May-2009, 00:06
Welcome, Mike!

Tachihara made a "yatsugiri" (Japanese whole plate) adapter back and matching holders for the Musashino Rittreck 5x7" view camera. These holders are somewhat longer and narrower than the vintage Eastman-type holders that are more common in the United States and the Lotus and Chamonix WP holders that are available new. However, I don't know whether Tachihara built their own WP camera to the same specification. Also, although I'm aware that Toyo made some WP holders, I don't know what their dimensions are.

If your camera is coming with a spring back/ground glass your first task will be to measure the width of holder that it can accommodate as well as the distance from the stop at the far end to the locking groove. This will determine what sort of holder you need to be looking for.

If the camera is coming without a back entirely, it may be a challenge to find a matching one.

Lensboard will depend on the camera - over the years Tachihara has made cameras with both industry-standard and proprietary lensboard types. A WP Tachihara is likely to have been a domestic-only model and to have had a proprietary lensboard size.