PDA

View Full Version : Digital Negatives

Chris Dunham
13-May-2009, 02:13
I recently made my first contact prints from 5x7 negatives and really liked the outcome. Would now like to make much larger prints and I'm trying to sort out the best method of getting the size and retaining the contact print 'smoothness' and sharpness.

Will making large digital negatives (with an Epson 3800) and contact printing on multi grade RC paper provide me with the same feel and sharpness as the 5x7 contact ?

Not sure if I've got this post in the right forum as it's part old/new school.

Chris.

Eirik Berger
13-May-2009, 02:38
I have only made digital negatives on Pictorico OHP for alternative processes (gum prints and carbon transfer) so I have no experience, but I know it has been done and I think there are several opinions if the results can match camera negatives. I wonder if those making digital negatives for silver printing uses a milky white version of the OHP?

In my learning process I bought Ron Reeders book about the subject, and got INVALUABLE help over at the Bostick & Sullivan forum. The nice thing about digital negatives is that you can adapt the negatives to fit a certain process and not the other way around.

My workshop got flooded with waste water both in october last year and now in march, so most of my equipment is destroyed. Hopefully I will be back contact printing and making negatives next winter.

cjbroadbent
13-May-2009, 03:44
I spent a very frustrating 3 months making digital negatives with all the available know-how on curves, inks etc. I now have boxes of negatives which produce Alt contact prints no better than my photocopier - the ultimate test.
The simplest and best by far negatives come straight from 8x10, thought the developer into the printing frame. The only tweak is exposure time + dev. time.

sanking
13-May-2009, 06:29