PDA

View Full Version : Loading a sheet-film hanger??

Gene McCluney
13-Apr-2009, 18:16
I have been processing sheet film for 30 years on hangers, but I may have been doing it wrong.

I was cleaning some 8x10 hangers I acquired recently, and I studied them. They are the standard Kodak Stainless-steel film hangers. You slide the film in, and flip over a spring-loaded channel on top that keeps the film in.

I have always loaded emulsion-side towards me, slide down into hanger, then flip over towards me the top channel to secure the film.

However I noticed the hanger has holes-on the other side of the framework-for solution entry. Now I have from time-to-time had "issues" with the edges of my film having some developing marks, and it got me to wondering-should I insert the film emulsion down, facing the side of the hanger that has the holes drilled? The holes are drilled on the outside edges and the "back" side of the film hangers, but not on the side I always load the emulsion facing.

I inspected my 5x7 and 4x5 hangers and they are the same.

Does anyone know?

Frank Bagbey
13-Apr-2009, 19:04
I have never been able to tell any difference in how I loaded the hangers. As long as your agitation actions are consistent, per Kodak instructions for sheet film processing, you should not see any difference or any defects in your films. I lift all the hangers and rotate to the right at the first 30 seconds for 5 seconds, then after reinserting the hangers into the tank, rotate to the left after the next 30 seconds for 5 seconds. Unlike some, I keep up this process the whole developing time. Some recommend after the first half of the processing time, to only rotate on the full minute. Doing an adequate pre-soak with wetting agent and having wetting agent in your developer should eliminate any developing problems. These methods have proven great for 4x5, 5x7, and 8x10 sheet film developing.

Jim Fitzgerald
13-Apr-2009, 19:34