PDA

View Full Version : LF Workshop in Texas ?

Scott Teven
27-Jan-2009, 22:06
I am fairly new to LF and owner of a new LF 4x5 monorail camera. I am looking for a LF Workshop in Texas. Or, perhaps a neably state where Southwest Airlines flys (ie. New Mexico, Arizona). My goal is learn camera movements and apply it to landscape and architectural photography.

venchka
28-Jan-2009, 07:42
Welcome! A bunch of film folks were lout last Saturday in Hermann Park and downtown. I had one of my 4x5 cameras with me. I could use help with camera movements too. I don't seem to be doing it right.

Houston is pretty much 100% digital. There are a few of us around who are fighting the good fight. Perhaps you can join us the next time we go out to waste some film.

Gem Singer
28-Jan-2009, 08:27
For an actual workshop, you might need to travel to New Mexico, California, Oregon, Arizona, etc. They usually are presented over a long weekend. Sometimes, as long as a week.

Look at the ads in View Camera magazine. Search on Google.

I haven't seen a LF workshop in Texas for at least ten years.

Perhaps you can find a one-on-one mentor in Houston.

venchka
28-Jan-2009, 09:07
I would volunteer, but who would teach me????????????????????

bigdog
28-Jan-2009, 09:23
I haven't seen a LF workshop in Texas for at least ten years.

Maybe it's time for one. I know of some individuals (not me) that would be good instructors. If there was enough interest, I would try and "produce" a workshop. :)

Valerie
28-Jan-2009, 09:38
I'd be up for a LF workshop in the Houston area as well (taking one, not teaching one!)

Gem Singer
28-Jan-2009, 09:56
I know several photogs that would be interested in attending a well presented LF workshop here in Texas, if they could travel to it by car. It's become too much of a hassle to bring LF camera gear to a distant workshop, via commercial airlines, these days.