PDA

View Full Version : What's Your Next Photo-Project Going to Be?

dperez
8-Jan-2009, 23:52
Thought I would start a new thread about new or current photo projects that we're undertaking or planning on starting. Here's mine:

Being that I'm a graduate student at California State Polytechnic University, Pomona (Cal Poly Pomona) and that I spend quite a bit of my time here at the university, I figured I would document university students for the better part of two years (at minimum).

I first had the idea to do a large format photo-documentary of county workers since I work for the County of Orange, but I realized that with the situation the way it is (layoffs, etc) that it might not be the best thing to start a project like that right now (although, for some it may seem like precisely the time to start). Maybe in a few years I can look at it again and pursue it, I don't want to get really invested in a project like that, then get laid off and there goes my insider status... I think I'm better off doing something where I can rest assured that I will have the time I need to devote to the project as it dictates. So for now the county project will sit on the shelf.

I'm really anxious to start a project and I think that doing something like documenting students in their various stages might prove intriguing and who knows where it will lead me.

I was an undergrad student here too, so I know what the student life is like here. I'd like to document the diversity of students and student mentalities; from commuter students to frat members living in dorms; professors and laborers, etc. I guess I want to capture the personality of the campus if that makes sense.

I'm interested to read about other LF projects that you guys might be starting, and if you haven't given much thought to starting a project maybe a discussion like this could serve as an impetus for you to carry one out.

-Daniel

mrladewig
9-Jan-2009, 04:40