PDA

View Full Version : B&W filter recommendations?

h2oman
20-Nov-2008, 17:09
I'm pretty new to LF, and have never really shot B&W in my life. I'm committed to giving it a try, however. I'm wondering what folks might recommend for a person's first two or three filters for B&W. My preferred photography is landscape/nature. I already have a polarizing filter that I use for color shooting.

Ron Marshall
20-Nov-2008, 17:13
For landscape, usually the only filter I use is a Wratten #12. Occasionally a #23. Used mostly to increase sky/cloud contrast.

I recommend buying one and shooting a few scenes with and without a filter to get a feel for it, then deciding if you need others.

Robert Skeoch
20-Nov-2008, 17:21
I mostly use one filter. A B+W 040, which is a dark yellow or orange. It darkens the sky which helps separate the clouds from the blue.

If any one uses a green for portraits and has a with/without sample they could post that would be great.

-Rob

Eric Leppanen
20-Nov-2008, 18:32
I also use a dark yellow/light orange filter (Wratten #16, same as Robert's B+W 040) to hold back the sky and increase cloud contrast. A frequent problem with daytime B&W landscape photography is that, when exposure is increased to open up the shadows, the sky can get blown out. A yellow or orange filter holds back blue light, darkening the sky to a more appropriate level.

In high contrast or hazy conditions, I will even combine the #16 and polarizer to further darken the sky and give any clouds the best definition possible.

Preston
20-Nov-2008, 18:46
"A yellow or orange filter holds back blue light, darkening the sky to a more appropriate level."

Agreed. However, a filter that darkens a blue sky will also darken shadows that are lit by the sky. A small increase in exposure, beyond that called for by the filter factor, will support the shadows a bit without blowing out the high values. Testing to see what works best is always a good idea.

-Preston

Bill_1856
20-Nov-2008, 19:00