PDA

View Full Version : Digital back on 6x7 and 4x5 ?

evgenyg
10-Oct-2008, 09:49
Hi.
here is my first post here.

1. From my experience a 6x4.5 film (contax) scanned with Nikon 9000 is equal a 22 mega pixels back. Is there any reason to use a 22 mega pixels digital back on a larger Mamia RZ67 IID? Why a digital sensor will outperform a 6x7 film?

2. I have a Sinarback 54M digital back attached via adapter to my Contax 645.
How to use a moveable back (Contax 645 moveable back called Widepan made in china) attached to Sinar P2 4x5 camera? I'm completely new to moveable backs, are they worth the money? Is this back for still life subjects or whatever else?
Is a 4/16 shoot digital back a better buy for still lifes, such as Sinarback 54H?

Thank

Gene McCluney
10-Oct-2008, 10:06
To fully utilize the functions of your Sinar 4x5 you need a scanning back, such as a Betterlight (brand) one. this has an image area very close to full 4x5. Since it is a back that "scans" the image area, it must be used only for still-life shots, and under so called "hot" lights (continuous lighting, no flash), but can deliver results far superior to the bayer-pattern digital backs when used within its parameters. The scanning backs give you full color information for each pixel, unlike the interpolated information in a Bayer-pattern back, thus the "real" resolution appears to be higher for the same pixel-count of a Bayer-pattern back. It is the "industry-standard" method for digitizing artwork (paintings, drawings, etc.)

These backs are like a 4x5 film holder. In use you compose and focus on your ground glass, then stop down and slide the back in just like a film holder, and initiate a scan from your computer-to which the back and control box are attached to.

The current versions of the Betterlight (brand) backs have a battery powered option, thus with a laptop, you can use the system outside the studio, for subjects such as architecture and still-life (no people) scenics.

Gordon Moat