PDA

View Full Version : question regarding movements

richard rackham
26-Sep-2008, 09:02
Hi - I'm very new to large format (but have been a professional 35mm and digital photographer for 22:confused: years) and have an ageing Sinar F with 150mm f5.6 Schneider lens. I bought into (very cheaply) 5x4 because I wanted to make the most of the large DoF possiblities. Having attempted this today, I'm a little confused, as when I tilt the front down to try and get in focus, say - a rock in the foreground - everything else goes way out of focus - in front of and more so in the background. Is this actually how the image will be recorded or is it just the way the scene is appearing on the focus screen and in reality will have much more of the subject plane in focus. If that is the case, how do you accurately judge how far to tilt and where to make your main point of focus? Any help much appreciated. Cheers Richard

PS: I was viewing the image with the aperture wide open, but taking the shot stopped down to f32 most of the time.

Bruce Watson
26-Sep-2008, 09:17
...I'm a little confused, as when I tilt the front down to try and get in focus, say - a rock in the foreground - everything else goes way out of focus - in front of and more so in the background. Is this actually how the image will be recorded or is it just the way the scene is appearing on the focus screen and in reality will have much more of the subject plane in focus. If that is the case, how do you accurately judge how far to tilt and where to make your main point of focus? Any help much appreciated. Cheers Richard

The ground glass doesn't lie. It tells the exact and unvarnished truth. What you see is exactly what you get. This is one of the joys of LF!