PDA

View Full Version : Tota light and a prayer

Ben Calwell
31-Aug-2008, 08:30
A friend has asked me to shoot some interior shots of a condo project he's developing. He needs them for a Web site, so I'm going to do the job with an Olympus DSLR.
As an amateur, my lighting "kit" consists of one, 1,000-watt Tota light.
I plan to do this in the daytime and use available light coming in through windows. I'm thinking that the best way to use my Tota is to simply bounce it off the ceiling or walls to boost the overall interior and then take my shots.
I'm sure the windows will overexpose, but I've seen that look in many magazines, so I guess it's Ok.
I guess my question is: will judicious use of the one Tota suffice, or should I get out my credit card, call B&H and order a couple of more Lowell lights?

Frank Petronio
31-Aug-2008, 09:19
Try it, it maybe actually be too much power. One thing you can do is two tripod-mounted exposures, one for the windows, one for the interior, and merge them in Photoshop. Don't try to make it look too perfect, have the windows somewhat overexposed for plausible daylight shots.

Often times you don't need any supplemental lighting, or if you do it needs to be gentle to simply open up the shadows, not dominate the existing lighting.

If there are large windows, half the battle is waiting for the light to benefit you.

erie patsellis
31-Aug-2008, 09:56
If you do use a tota light, be sure to use a CTB filter over it, quite likely a full CTB or 3/4, otherwise your color temps will be way off, some like that look, I prefer a 1/2 CTB to retain some warmth in the interior lighting, but not too much, experimentation is the key here.

Frank's idea is better, be sure to shoot raw, and shoot 2 shots of each, use a gray card for one of the interior shots, to establish a white balance reference as well.

Gordon Moat
31-Aug-2008, 10:49