PDA

View Full Version : Quality question????????

ignatiusjk
24-Aug-2008, 11:53
I have a Epson 3800 printer with 4x5 negs scanned on a Epson V700 scanner at 400 ppi and when I make a 4x6 print they look great when I make a 16x20 print from the same settings my 16x20 look like I used a 35mm neg. Am I expecting to much or am I doing something wrong. It's VERY frustrating to get so so results from a 4x5 neg. The prints B&W or color have no resolution to them, like I said 4x6 they are tack sharp 16x20 look like there from a 35mm neg. WHAT DO I DO??? I'm new to digital try not to be to technical.

Colin Graham
24-Aug-2008, 11:55
You're enlarging to 16x20 from a 400ppi scan?

Bruce Watson
24-Aug-2008, 12:05
Am I expecting to much or am I doing something wrong?

You're doing something wrong. Specifically, you are confusing scanning resolution and output resolution. For a 4x enlargement (20x16 inches), try a scanning resolution of 1200 spi. This will give you file that will print at 20x16 with an output resolution of 300 ppi.

Ash
24-Aug-2008, 12:14
As far as I'm aware....if I wanted to print the image I'm scanning, I'd scan to the resolution I'd want to print. So, for example you select your output (target) size to be 16x20, and your resolution to be 300dpi.

By the way, if you haven't set your scanner to professional mode, you're probably not going to be able to do that.

http://www.dimagemaker.com/ktml2/images/uploads/scan/v500/prof.jpg

See, it gives a target size - that's the important bit. If it says original, you probably won't get the image you want. Try scanning at target size 16x20 with resolution 150, 300, 600. Compare that to target size 'original' at 150, 300, 600 resolution.

Alan Davenport
24-Aug-2008, 13:05
4x5 at 400ppi is only 1600x2000 pixels. In reality you have less than that because the image area is less than 4x5. That would only be good for about a 5x7 print. For a 16x20 print you need 4800x6000 pixels.