PDA

View Full Version : Tilt/dof question

h2oman
18-Jul-2008, 18:36
I just received the most recent issue of Outdoor Photographer, which contains an interesting image (in a technical sense, at least) by Jack Dykinga on page 85. The foreground is a pile of rocks on the edge of a cliff (in the Grand Canyon), and the background is the canyon and river below. It seems that if the camera was level a huge amount of tilt would be needed to get the plane of focus oriented through the rocks and the canyon below. It also seems a lot of rise/fall would be needed as well to get the view downward. I'm guessing the camera was pointed down quite a bit, with moderate amounts of front and/or rear tilt.

Since I'm relatively new to this business, I was wondering if anyone else had any advice/ideas for focusing such a shot.

David A. Goldfarb
18-Jul-2008, 18:58
Without seeing the shot, it's hard to say, but camera pointing down and a little front forward tilt or rear backward tilt (for a more dramatic near/far effect) sounds about right.

Here's one of mine, so I know what I did.--

http://www.echonyc.com/~goldfarb/photo/La'ie.jpg

I'm standing on one rock, and I want to get the distant rocks center and left as well as the surface of the water all in focus. I'm using a 75mm lens on 4x5" for a strong near/far effect. The camera is pointed downward, and I used just one or two degrees of front forward tilt to bring the foreground rock and the distant rock in focus and stopped down to tighten it all up.

With a wide lens, you don't need much, and looking down into the Canyon, Dykinga may have just stopped down without using any tilt, since everything wouldn't lie so neatly in a single plane as it did in my composition.

Tom Conway
19-Jul-2008, 07:37
David: Thanks for a succinct description and recommendation. You said a lot in two short paragraphs and one photo! Tom Conway.

h2oman
20-Jul-2008, 10:17
Thanks for taking the time to reply, David. Your input is greatly appreciated.