PDA

View Full Version : Movements!

PBimages
12-Jul-2008, 03:34
I know some people might go Arghh not this again!

But one thing I think this site lacks is a search facility, I have been through quite a few pages and numerous threads, but I found myself getting more and more confused!

I am new to this, I have only ever shot two negatives using a Large Format Camera, and that was at college!

Since then I have obtained a Toyo View 45E

Tomorrow I plan on popping out to photograph some Architecture, as I need to complete a college assignment on this subject and as you can imagine I need to use a number of movements to make sure the image is perfect.

I may be limited as I only have a 150mm lens and a 90mm lens!

Can anyone offer me some words of wisdom, or advice on things to watch before I waste some film!

I am experianced with medium format photography, but I feel that using this as a larger version of a 35mm camera etc is wrong as this camera is capable of a lot more!

Alan Rabe
12-Jul-2008, 04:37
There is a search facility. It is the fourth link from the right in the darker blue band under your name in the top right corner.

Bruce Barlow
12-Jul-2008, 04:48
For all movements, thre are two things to remember:

1. Focus on the Far, Move for the Near
2. The Lens Looks, the Back Backs

So, rock in the foreground, sky far away? Focus on the sky (bottom of the inverted image on the ground glass), tilt until the rock is in focus. Sky goes a little out of focus, so adjust, then adjust tilt, etc. It's a little dance. When near and far are both focused, lock down focus and tilts. Middle fuzzy? Stop down until it looks sharp, then one more stop.

Rear tilt makes the rock loom, front doesn't. Try it both ways, and compare proofs.

Lens Looks: Tilting the lens forward (towards the rock) makes the rock sharper. Tilting the Back Back (away from the rock) gets the rock sharper.