PDA

View Full Version : Not so sure about the quality

ignatiusjk
11-Jul-2008, 18:23
I just purchased an Epson 3800 printer and I'm not crazy about the quality of the prints. The B&W's tend to look like they were made on a standard copier,they don't look like typical B&W prints. The color prints seem better but they still look like a cheap imitation of an original photograph.I'm new to scanning/printing so I'm chalking it up to that. Any help any of you can give is GREATLY appreciated.

Joanna Carter
12-Jul-2008, 00:35
Have you profiled the printer/paper/ink combinaton? This is almost the most important step in obtaining high quality prints.

Haris
12-Jul-2008, 08:35
Yes, you have to calibrate your equipment. That means next:

1. To find icc (colour) profiles for your printer/ink/paper combination. For example I use(d) HP printer with original ink and Ilford Galerie papers, and on Ilford's web site I found icc profiles for mine printer/ink/paper combination (also with instruction how to install them and how to set imaging sotware)

2. To calibrate your scanner/monitor/printer. That means to use some calibration hardware/software which will provide to you that colours/shades of gray you see on monitor will be colours/shades of gray you will get on paper when print image. There are several products, I remember for example Spyder from Datacolor, or hueyPRO from Pantone calibration tools, or... Not that I recommend any of them (or not recommend), I just remembered those as example.

Brian Ellis
12-Jul-2008, 09:15
The 3800 is a great printer, if your photographs look like cheap imitations of something or like they came from a copier it almost certainly isn't the printer's fault, it's yours. Sorry to be so blunt but there's a lot more to making excellent prints than buying a good printer.