PDA

View Full Version : Epson 3800 printer paper

ignatiusjk
11-Jul-2008, 16:09
Well I finally made the big move and got a Epson 3800 printer.I'm still getting use to it. My main question is where can I get 16x20 paper that is good stuff.I checked the Epson site and they want 177.00 for 25 sheets.Is there anybody else to go with? I want a display quality paper,fiber base, in short museum quality paper.By the way I'm not sure this printer is all that.I'm new to the whole digital thing.

Donald Miller
11-Jul-2008, 17:30
The question that needs to be answered is one that is highly subjective. I would recommend buying small sheets and small quantities of some of the more widely used papers and then making your own decision of which paper you want to use.

Some papers that I use are Hahnemuhle Photo Rag (matte), Harman (matte), Harman Gloss FB, Hahnemuhle Bamboo, Ilford Gold Silk. I am sure that others will have recommendations or suggest papers to try.

Ron Marshall
11-Jul-2008, 19:25
Inkjetart, and other dealers sell 5 sheet 8.5x11 trial packs of paper, or assortments of papers, so you can economically sample a few different papers.

I recommend you start with a matt paper and use ABW mode.

I second Hahnemuhle Photo Rag for a matt paper and Gold Fiber Silk for a glossy.

If you can't get the look you are after with the Epson inks then you might want to consider another inkset such as the Cone septone inks. But give it some time to get used to the workflow.

Brian Ellis
12-Jul-2008, 09:59
Digital printing paper isn't generally sold in 16x20 size, the paper size you'd normally order to make a 16x20 print is 17x22 paper. Also, digital printing paper is usually listed in terms of its surface (matte, semi-gloss, luster, etc.) rather than as "fiber" or something else.